The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada at ten year intervals.

The Bureau is the principal publication agency of the Federal Government; the subjects of the reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The Bureau reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (R.S.C. 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The head of the Department of External Affairs is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer of the Department is the Under-Secretary (Deputy Minister) who is the chief adviser to the Secretary of State for External Affairs. He is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by three Assistant Under-Secretaries and a Legal Adviser and is advised by officers in charge of the various divisions, each responsible for a part of the work of the Department. The divisional heads are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, Administrative Officers and by the administrative staff of clerks, stenographers and typists. While serving abroad Foreign Service Officers are formally designated as Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First, Second and Third Secretaries at diplomatic posts and as Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. Fifty-eight diplomatic and consular posts are maintained abroad by Canada.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 17 divisions which can be grouped according to their functions into three categories—political, functional and administrative. There are five political divisions—American, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern and United Nations; eight functional divisions—Consular, Defence Liaison (1) and (2), Economic, Information, Legal, Historical Research and Reports, and Protocol; and four administrative divisions—Establishments and Organization, Finance, Personnel, Supplies and Properties.

Department of Finance.—This Department, created on June 22, 1869 by an Act respecting the Department of Finance (32-33 Vict., c. 4), is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including raising the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements.

The work of the Department is organized in seven principal Divisions: Administration, Financial Administration and Accounting Policy, Superannuation, Treasury Board, Taxation, Economic Policy, and International Economic Relations. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department. The Inspector General of Banks and the Comptroller of the Treasury are officers of the Department.

The Tariff Board and the Canadian Farm Loan Board are responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and fresh water fisheries is with the Federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on these International Commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, and Whaling.

**Department of Insurance.**—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 70). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, trust and loan companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; and Civil Service insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines provincial trust companies in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies in the Province of Nova Scotia.

A Fire Prevention Branch was organized in 1919 with responsibility for the administration of former Sect. 515 of the Criminal Code. Since that time it has maintained fire loss records, made inspections, reported on fire protection legislation and protection methods and endeavoured to extend and co-ordinate fire prevention work in Canada. In 1954 this Branch was transferred to the Department of Public Works.